old habits dying hard

16Jun03

on friday night i heard this funny metal tinkling sound coming from my bike. saturday, when i inspected it, i realized that somehow i had managed to break the metal cage of my right pedal. i don’t even want to hazard a guess as to how it happened. the pedal body was fine and so were the clips and straps. so i figgered i’d go replace the pedals today.

WRONG. two factors worked against this theory: 1. the affordability and thus proliferation of clipless pedals 2. the crossover of equipment from bmx to downhilling. now the bikeshops in SF no longer carry old school analog pedals, all they carry are clipless and the new bmx style platform designed for 15mm regular bike cranks. so i gave into the new and got me a pair of new school bmx style platforms, perfect for the city.

since i bought the pedals at a shop where i knew the mechanic from my days at start to finish, i asked him if i could use a bench. what was the first thing i did? not remove my old pedals, not grease the threads on the new ones. no the first thing i did was figure how to pop off the reflectors. old habits die hard.

One Response to “old habits dying hard”

  1. 1 vicp

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.


Leave a Reply

