the life style to which i am accustomed

25Jul06

this is not about brand names and expensive things. no this is about how i work here. and how i could not work like that in south africa. basically the concept of walking to a local cafe, getting a good cup of joe, and hopping online there to do some work is pretty much impossible to replicate there. first off, there are few cafes with wifi, and far fewer with free wifi. even if they do have wifi, the data speeds there are miserable. in well developed cities they are 1mb down / 256kb up MAX, and non-commercial connections have a 3 Gb data cap. and this is supposed to make south africa “competitive” with europe and the US mind you. second, even if there are cafes with wifi, pretty much none of them have good coffee. some have mediocre coffee. but for instance, origin, doesn’t have wifi. nor do any of the other halfway decent places i tried. finally you can’t just decide to go walk out for a cup of joe at 6 pm, or any time on weekends, and expect a decent cafe to even be open, let alone have wifi. nor would you really walk 10 blocks at 6pm or after lest you wind up a victim of some idiotic violent crime. so forgetaboutit. we have it good here.

5 Responses to “the life style to which i am accustomed”

  1. 1 Mickey

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed
    to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they
    just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the
    whole thing without having side effect , people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  2. I haven’t checked in here for a while as I thought it was getting boring,
    but the

    last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist.

    You deserve it my friend 🙂

  3. Valuable info. Lucky me I found your website by accident,
    and I’m shocked why this

    accident did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  4. I’m no longer certain the place you are getting
    your

    information, however good topic. I needs to spend some time
    finding out

    much more or figuring out more. Thank you for

    magnificent information I used to be in search of

    this information for my mission.

  5. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of information. I’m glad that you simply shared this helpful information with
    us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

