love is a many splendored thing

20Oct06

i am in no way implying i am in love, unless you can be in love with an idea, in which case… ANYHOW i just heard someone whistling outside my window and though it didn’t sound the same, it reminded me of my grandpa whistling that weird 1950s song with the orchestra and the chorus of girls singing. there’s a term for that particular era of music, but i don’t know it. all i know is it was one of about 6 songs my grandpa would whistle or sing. what, didn’t your grandparents sing old songs to you?

8 Responses to “love is a many splendored thing”

  1. 1 jesse

    I thought you might grab this theme..anyway, my grandparents didn’t whistle any songs that I can recall. Then again, some of them were too busy bathing in blood.

  2. my grandmother used to sing the Rubber Tree Plant song. Do you know the one I’m talking about?

  3. 3 Joe

    My grandmother didnt’ whistle much, she sang sometimes. But mostly she’s played misty on the piano over and over and over for the past 20 years. A bit melancholy….. I don’t know how, but somehow she manages to not be able to play a song she’s been plaing for 20 years, without screwing up at lest once, whic sends both of us into a fit of laughter.

    Oops! There goes another rubber tree plant!

  4. 4 Joe

    I good spleller. Geez sorry for the goofs dude. I’ll try harder next time.

  5. 5 Ari

    Hmm… chorus of girls, you say? I would have guessed some sorta big-band jazzy tunes, but probably not.

    Anyway, I come by your blog by way of Dethroner, looking for Spaced? Any way you could help me out?

  6. 6 Joe

    There is no Spaced, there is only Zool. Seriously.

  7. 7 Ari

    Only Zool? That makes me slightly sad.

  8. 8 ivan

    My grandpa would sing (not whistle) proletariat-themed songs like “Chicken in the car, and the car won’t go, that’s how you spell Chicago!”


Leave a Reply

